Wynonna lays the first egg!!

Well after the last few days of not finding any eggs at all, we were beginning to think it might be weeks before we would get some. The girls are 18 1/2 weeks old at this point, so we know it would be fairly early for them to start laying, but still we had the fun and excitement of checking the egg box every day in hopes that that first egg would be there. Day after day all we found were the golf balls we left in the nests to give them the idea that they needed to lay their eggs there. So this morning when I headed out early to check on the girls, I didn’t really expect to find an egg. I let them out to do a little free range scratching and pecking, and honestly didn’t count to see if all eight girls were in the yard. As it turns out when I checked the egg box, Wynonna was sitting in there! It startled me to be honest. I’d never seen any of them get in there. I felt terrible too, like I walked in on a woman getting dressed or sitting on the toilet. I quickly closed the door to let her do her business. A few minutes later I saw her in the yard, so I checked the egg box. We recorded it so you could share the first moment with us!!

~jeff

20131116-104553.jpg

20131116-104601.jpg

20131116-104608.jpg

Categories: Photo Gallery, Video | Tags: , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.